summer; an abridgment

It’s hard to believe that summer is quickly drawing to a close and school begins in just a few short weeks! The school I’ll be working at this year starts in July, which will be quite an adjustment considering August has always been the month I associate with the start of school. But. All is well, and I’m excited for new opportunities/adjustments this school year.

I’ve packed quite a bit into this month and a half of break – I’m getting the most I can out of summer! Here are a few things I’ve been up to:

  1. Taking a girls’ trip to the Upper Peninsula of Michigan with my mom and aunt to celebrate my aunt turning 60 this year. One of the things on her bucket list was to stay in a lighthouse, so we researched and found the cutest lighthouse-turned-bed-&-breakfast in Ahmeek, Michigan. It’s owned by a little lady named Mary who bought the lighthouse with her late husband, took years to renovate it, and made it their home that they open up to others. You can read all about their story here. We had such a fantastic time!
  2. Working at the Rugged Roost, a cute little vintage/rehabbed home decor shop, in Franklin, Indiana. It’s been a nice change of pace from teaching for a few weeks, fun to meet new people, & inspiring to see what other makers are coming up with.rugged roost1
  3. Having free time to try some new things! A few months ago, I attended a baby shower where my pastor’s wife made a gorgeous crib quilt…and I just knew I had to learn to make it! A few Saturdays ago she helped me sew this together for a friend who is having a baby – it’s so fun and easy! (Just time consuming!) I’ve already started thinking about making them and selling them in my Etsy shop. Thoughts?

    crib quilt1

  4. Reading! The 2 books I’ve finished and loved recently are The Sound of Gravel by Ruth Wariner and The Essential 55 by Ron Clark.

What is on your summer to-do list?

Leave a comment