it is well with me.

The end of a school year can be such a bittersweet time. Maybe your kids are driving you nuts and you’re counting down the minutes left until you can bask in sweet summertime. They’ve cleaned out their desks and helped you collect an enormous wad of sticky tack from the various posters around the room. Your coworker sent you a “24 hours from now…” text that can only mean shorts, sandals, and turning off your Monday through Friday alarm off for several (!) weeks is oh so very close.

The bittersweet part is that even though all those things are true, I’m really, really going to miss my class.

Just look at them!

class

Last night was our school’s kindergarten graduation. All of the classes, including my 3rd graders, contributed to the program by singing and playing different instruments – boom whackers and hand bells to name a couple! 🙂 They have been practicing for weeks. You know when you get kids’ songs stuck in your head because you’ve heard it on a regular basis for so long? This is my life currently. Give Will.i.am’s “What I Am” from Sesame Street a listen. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat 80 more times. This is what my brain has been like for the last 3 weeks. You’re welcome.

But in all seriousness, one of the songs our music teacher taught them this year was Bethel Music’s rendition of “It Is Well,” and I simply haven’t been able to listen to it enough. There’s a line or two that reads, “Through it all/My eyes are on You/And it is well with me.” I feel like that’s been the theme song of my year. I’ve literally had to throw up my hands in surrender and say, “All right, God. Tell me what to do. Lead me where you will.” Every week when my kids sang those words, I was reminded that God is in control and I am not. I can choose to have joy in the midst of life’s chaos or sulk because my plans don’t match up with His. Thank goodness my God is bigger than my less-than-childlike faith.

God is our refuge and strength,
an ever-present help in trouble.
Therefore, we will not fear, though the earth give way
and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea,
though its waters roar and foam
and the mountains quake with their surging.
Psalm 46:1-3

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kathleen says:

    Beautifully said! Your kids were lucky to have you.

    Like

  2. Randall Benton says:

    whenever I hear this song, I think of the story behind it. How can I worry or complain?

    Like

Leave a Reply

