my “famous” banana bread

Banana bread is one of my faves. Probably because it’s so easy to make!

I started making banana bread back in college when my roommates and I would have weekly “roomie breakfasts” where we would cook breakfast together, chat about our weeks, and pray for one another. It’s one of my favorite college memories because a) food b) friends c) actually talking and praying together helps you know what is going on in another person’s life and not get super mad about dumb stuff like dirty dishes or clothes thrown all over the floor. (Let’s be honest. That was me. I still throw clothes on the floor. Sorry, Andrew.)

This was taken for roomie dinner back in 2011 before taking pictures of your food was a thing, hence dinner and not the infamous roomie breakfast. Thanks, IG. We liked to get fancy, even if it was just for a Saturday night in. Also, I still have those plates. Thanks, garage sale.

roomie dinner

But anyway. Back to banana bread.

Today I made two types of banana bread because I had bananas coming out of my ears needing to be used and I like to be able to give it away whenever I get a chance. I sent Andrew to work with some to share with his coworkers and I’m bringing one to a friend from church later on. It’s an easy way to make someone’s day a little better! Carbs do things like that.

Basic Banana Bread
2 cups flour
1 cup sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. cinnamon
2 eggs
1/4 cup milk
1/3 cup vegetable oil
2 ripe mashed bananas

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Spray 12 muffin cups with nonstick spray.
  3. Whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon.
  4. In a separate bowl, whisk together eggs, milk, and vegetable oil.
  5. Combine the dry ingredients and the wet ingredients.
  6. Blend in the bananas.
  7. Spoon your mixture into muffin cups, filling them about 3/4 of the way.
  8. Bake for 25-27 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

    muffins

Wah la! I also like baking these in mini bread loaf pans – you just have to adjust the baking time by a smidge.

I also made pumpkin banana bread this morning. Follow the same directions and ingredient list as the basic banana bread, but add a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice and about half a cup of pumpkin.

pumpkin muffins

Do you have any go-to baking recipes?
Enjoy the rest of your Saturday, friends!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Beverly says:

    Yummy! I should try the muffins. Seems like a loaf doesn’t always get eaten right away. Inspiring me to try cooking again 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

