snail mail & homemade ice cream, oh my!

Good morning and happy (almost) Valentine’s Day!

Over the weekend I spent some time preparing for this week because I knew it would be a busy one. One thing I love to do (even when it’s not valentine-writing time) is send snail mail. There is a certain feeling you get when you give and receive handwritten mail – it’s more meaningful than a text, it causes you to slow down, and it gives you intentional time to stop and really think about that person. Plus, who doesn’t like getting a letter every now and then?

Andrew got me a really cool address book from Rifle Paper Company for Christmas that I love, so whenever I pull out my card box, this comes along with it too. Plus, I found some really cute/punny valentines from the Target dollar section. Yes, please! I might have an addiction..address-book

My class is also having a Valentine party that a local church has organized for us. I picked these up at Teachers’ Treasures, which is a super great organization that I get to shop at for FREE for classroom supplies. It’s seriously awesome and such a blessing!valentines

Andrew and I are celebrating Valentine’s Day on Monday, but I couldn’t resist whipping up something sweet for Tuesday, the actual February 14th. A friend from college sent me this recipe for chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream and I’ve been waiting for a special occasion to use it! Warning: It’s not for the faint of heart (you’ll be able to tell by the ingredient list!) but it’s so delicious! I might have tried a spoonful. I had to. Here is the recipe from Like Mother Like Daughter’s blog:

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream

INGREDIENTS
chocolate chip cookie dough
1/2 stick butter, softened
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 tbsp. white sugar
1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
2 tbsp. milk
1/4 tsp. salt
3/4 cup flour
6 tbsp. mini chocolate chips

ice cream
1 14 oz. can sweetened condensed milk
2 tsp. vanilla extract
2 cups heavy whipping cream

INSTRUCTIONS
chocolate chip cookie dough
1. Cream together the brown sugar, white sugar, and butter until it’s mixed thoroughly.
2. Add the vanilla and milk.
3. Pour in the salt and flour until everything is combined.
4. Put wax paper on a cookie sheet and spread your dough into a thin layer.
5. Stick it in the freezer for about 30 minutes, then remove it and chop the cookie dough into little chunks.

ice cream
1. Combine the condensed milk and vanilla extract in a large bowl.
2. In a separate bowl, mix your heavy cream on high for about 5 minutes.
3. Fold the whipped cream into the sweetened condensed milk mixture.
4. Put 1/3 of the ice cream mixture into the bottom of a 9×5 inch pan (I used a bread loaf pan).
5. Drop a portion of the cookie dough pieces into the ice cream mixture, then mix it around until the cookie dough is evenly spread throughout.
6. Do this again with a 1/3 of ice cream and about 1/3 of cookie dough, then repeat.
7. Cover the ice cream with tin foil and stick it in the freezer for at least 6 hours before serving.

One thing my friend suggested was doubling the cookie dough, which I did. Yum! Let me know if you try this recipe too!

Enjoy your day today and hope you feel especially loved this week!

Leave a Reply

