michigan winters

Anyone who knows me knows that I hate driving in the winter. Even though I’ve lived in the midwest my entire life and should probably be used to it by now, snow, ice, and my 4-wheel-drive-less car do not make good friends.

But for your college roommates, you make exceptions.

Like that time 3 years ago when we trekked through a blizzard, shoveled the driveway TWICE, and barely made it home alive by the end of the weekend. (Sorry, Mom.)michigan-snow

I swore I would never go to Michigan again between the months of November and April because let’s be real, midwest winter lasts 6 months out of the year!

But when your college roommate is expecting a baby, you bundle up, pack a shovel, pray for the best, and hit the road.stacis-shower

In preparation for the baby shower, I decided to go a nontraditional route (although I did make a trip to Buy Buy Baby – how do moms even know where to begin in that store?!) and made a onesie with the shape of Wisconsin on it, which is where Staci and her husband live currently. A friend of mine taught me how to sew pillows recently, so I decided to take what I learned from her and apply it to baby clothes. When you have the time and resources, I think going the handmade route is so much more fun!onesie

Here was my first state themed sewing project. Yay for trying new things!indiana-pillow

While I was there, I also got to spend time with Amanda and her sister, Rachel. It was so life-giving to spend time with them! I have a unique relationship with these girls because after graduating college, we traveled across the country with our craft ministry, Before & After. It was easily one of the best experiences of my life. I often look back at that summer and think, “Did I really do that?”

Yep. We did. And we have the summer’s worth of stories to prove it.before-after

Anyway. Sometimes baby showers, trips to local shops that carry Magnolia merch (!!), good conversations, & lazy mornings that turn into afternoons watching HGTV with the ones you love is worth it.magnolia

Leave a Reply

